I’ve fallen in love with aubergines.

I never thought I could do so much with this vegetable which I once deemed too gooey for my liking. As a kid, I only had aubergines cooked one way. With minced pork and chilli, and usually braised till it’s all a little too unidentifiably mushy. Ever since independence took over and I moved to Australia moons ago, I discovered how versatile this spongey little thing can be.

Aubergines, eggplant, brinjal…call it what you want. It’s technically a fruit (much like the tomato) but I insist on calling it as a vegetable. You can grill it (mmm, grilled aubergines are delish – you can try it with this salad recipe), you can cook it in a curry, bake it with tomato sauce and cheese (anyone say melanzane parmagiana?) – so many different ways to say yum.

This particular recipe comes from my beloved Ottolenghi cookbook. Made it for dinner a few times and is lovely as a side with roast chicken or fish. The sweet baked, tender aubergine in a lightly garlicky saffron yogurt. Very Mediterranean, very fresh and delicious. Don’t diss it before you try it, you’d be surprised at how good this combination is. And don’t forget the pomegranate seeds, they give that added burst of sweetness to the dish. Love!

From Ottolenghi, The Cookbook:

3 medium aubergines, cut into slices or thick wedges
olive oil for brushing
2 tbsp toasted pine nuts (I ran out, so I replaced with chopped almonds)
a handful of pomegranate seeds
20 basil leaves
course sea salt and black pepper

For saffron yogurt:
a small pinch of saffron strands
3 tbsp hot water
180g Greek yogurt
1 garlic clove, crushed
2.5 tbsp lemon juice
3 tbsp olive oil

1.For the sauce, infuse saffron in the hot water in a small bowl for 5 mins. Add yogurt, garlic, lemon juice, olive oil and some salt. Whisk well to get smooth golden sauce. Taste and adjust the salt, if necessary, then chill. Sauce will keep well in the fridge for up to 3 days.

2. Preheat oven to 220C/Gas Mark 7. Place aubergine wedges on a roasting tray, brush with plenty of olive oil on both sides and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast for 20-35 mins, until a light brown colour. Let them cool to room temperature before serving.

3. To serve, arrange aubergine on a large plate. Drizzle with saffron yogurt, sprinkle nuts and pomegranate seeds and lay the basil on top.

Join the conversation! 12 Comments

  1. This looks AMAZING!
    I love aubergines..will definitely make this soon

    Reply
  2. Wow, great photos and wonderful recipe.

    Reply
  3. looks great! I can’t wait to make this once eggplants are back in season and at the farmers markets.

    Reply
  4. i love aubergines. such a versatile ingredient. fabulous fotos – looks delish!

    Reply
  5. Well the pictures certainly look edible, so I am sure the rest is delightful :)

    “Many aspects of my method are based on my feeling and experience. For instance, I always give my bird a generous butter massage before I put it in the oven. Why? Because I think the chicken likes it—and, more important, *I* like to give it.”
    – Julia Child

    Reply
  6. All I can say is that this looks so yummy!

    Reply
  7. let me tell you, the pictures are beautiful. And I like the recipe as well. I love yoghurts, especially with aubergine, or mushroom, or what the hell…with anything :)

    Reply
  8. This looks spectacular! Definitely drool worthy. Great photos too. :)

    Reply
  9. […] tried a couple of salad recipes from the Ottolenghi cookbook and they have both been superb – Roasted aubergine with saffron yogurt (yum!) and Chargrilled courgettes, asparagus and haloumi (yum yum!). So this time, I thought […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Veggies & Salads