So, there’s been some progress. We found a lovely apartment and have just moved in. Most of the stuff have been unpacked, but part two (currently on a ship somewhere in the Mediterranean) will only arrive later in June. What’s left to do? Setting up a kitchen from scratch. Let me just say, it’s NO FUN. I’d rather have all the things I’m familiar with – all the spices, flours and condiments, the pots, pans and baking equipment. I miss them all! I do have really nice cutlery, glassware and crockery though. Mostly gifts from our wedding five years ago. I just have to be very patient. Very, very patient as I discover how slowly ships sail…

I also ask for your patience as I get things going down under. In lieu of actual cooking, I am now using one of my few back ups from the last few days in London. I had leftover flour which I didn’t want to chuck out, and so it was either a cake or pizza. Pizza won.

So I made some home-made white pizza with spice-roasted chicken, pesto and sundried tomatoes. Great way to use up all the last bits of condiments and spices!

For the dough, I used Jamie Oliver’s pizza dough recipe and halved it.

Pizza making can be quite a mess but it’s loads of fun and definitely very therapeutic.

PIZZA DOUGH
Makes about 4 medium pizzas

500g strong white bread flour
1/2 level tablespoon fine sea salt
7g of dried yeast
1/2 tablespoon golden caster sugar
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
325ml lukewarm water

Sieve the flour and salt on to a clean work surface and make a well in the middle. In a jug, mix the yeast, sugar and olive oil into the water and leave for a few minutes, then pour into the well. Using a fork, bring the flour in gradually from the sides and swirl it into the liquid. Keep mixing, drawing larger amounts of flour in, and when it all starts to come together, work the rest of the flour in with your clean, flour-dusted hands. Knead until you have a smooth, springy dough.

Place the ball of dough in a large flour-dusted bowl and flour the top of it. Cover the bowl with a damp cloth and place in a warm room for about an hour until the dough has doubled in size.

Remove the dough to a flour-dusted surface and knead it around a bit to push the air out with your hands. You can either use it immediately, or keep it, wrapped in clingfilm, in the fridge (or freezer) until required. If using straight away, divide the dough up into as many little balls as you want to make pizzas.

With this white pizza, I used pesto as the base and topped it with sliced chicken breast which I roasted with some dried herbs and spices. Sundried tomatoes gave the pizzas a zing and cheese, lots of yummy cheese is essential. The best part about home-made pizzas is that you can top your pizza with your favourite ingredients. Go crazy!

I’ll be back soon with some new posts soon. Fingers crossed. xx

Join the conversation! 2 Comments

  1. Looks awesome! Good luck setting up in your new place. It can take a while to feel like home . . . but you’ll get there!

    Reply
  2. Mmm this looks so delicious! I love getting creative to use up ingredients that I already have in the fridge/pantry. Otherwise, the ingredients just get forgotten or go bad. Good luck with the move in!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Chicken, Recipes, Rice, Noodles, Pasta

Tags

, , ,