May 16, 2011

Easy crab cakes

I’m off to Singapore and Vietnam tomorrow for two weeks of food and festivities. It’d be my first time visiting Vietnam and I’m looking forward to it. Most of the time will be spent celebrating the union of my brother-in-law and his future wife, but trust me, I’m definitely going to try and fit in copious amounts of food sampling. Yay me!

Nothing exciting happening in my own kitchen though…it seems my boxes and beloved cookware have now gone past the Mediterranean and enroute to Singapore, possibly somewhere in the Indian Ocean. Fingers crossed the boxes will go through a smooth transfer to another ship before making its way down under.

For now, I’m dusting off an older post, birthed in my London kitchen. It was inspired from my trip to Miami, the land of giant and delicious crab cakes.

EASY CRAB CAKES
Makes about 6-8 cakes

3 x 170g canned crab meat
1/2 cup of seasoned breadcrumbs
1 cup of cooked potatoes, chopped or crushed
1 egg lightly beaten
1/2 cup of yellow onion, chopped
2 tbsp capers, rinsed and chopped
1/4 cup mayonnaise
pinch of cayenne pepper
a light squeeze of fresh lemon juice
a handful of chopped parsley
salt and pepper

In a large bowl, mix all of the ingredients except the breadcrumbs together.

Divide the mixture into 6-8 portions, shape into patties, coat lightly in breadcrumbs and shallow fry till golden brown.

Serve with lemon wedges and a side salad.

Enjoy!! See you in two weeks time (I may blog while I’m away but no guarantees, I may be too busy eating!)…

Join the conversation! 2 Comments

  1. Hi,

    I am jealous! Vietnam & Singapore are
    famous for their exceptional food. I
    haven’t been in Vietnam yet but tried
    the wonderful vietnamese food in other
    asian countries. When in Singapore, try
    the black pepper crab !!!

    Regards,
    Alex

    Reply
  2. Crab cakes are so delicious. These look fantastic! I really want to try making them soon. Safe travels to Singapore and Vietnam; hope you have a wonderful time. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Seafood

Tags

, ,