I’m intrigued by the Japanese. They have the most advanced technologies, they are forward thinking in so many ways, they have the most amazing sense of packaging (and design), their sense of honour, family and culture is extremely strong, and in light of the recent tsunami disasters – they are the most resilient and united people in the world!

I would love to visit Japan one day soon. Now that we’re back on this side of the globe, that dream is so much more possible. It is still an expensive place to visit, but it’s on the list. We’re working on it. For now, the closest Japanese experience for me is food. Sushi, sashimi, ramen, udon, teriyaki, tempura, teppanyaki, okonomiyaki, matcha ice-cream and I could go on and on….

I haven’t tried many Japanese recipes to date, something I should rectify. I’ll get onto that – starting with this recipe. It’s nothing new to many people who love baking. Japanese cheesecake, unlike its Western counterpart is crustless, soft and fluffy, light on the sugar factor and very dangerous.

It’s dangerous because it’s so easy to forget that you’re eating a cheesecake. This cotton soft wonder is so light that you could eat the entire cake  and not feel a thing. Takes a lot of self control!

It’s fun to bake – however this time round my cake puffed up a lot during baking and when it cooled, it shrank back and caused the top to go all wrinkly. It’s still soft and doesn’t affect the taste at all, but it’s just not as pretty. I like pretty. Let’s hope I get yummy AND pretty next time.

Japanese Cheesecake

140g fine granulated sugar
6 egg whites
6 egg yolks
1/4 tsp cream of tartar
50g butter
250g cream cheese
100 ml fresh milk
1 tbsp lemon juice
60g cake flour
20g cornflour (cornstarch)
1/4 tsp salt

1. Melt cream cheese, butter and milk over a double boiler. Cool the mixture. Fold in the flour, the cornflour, egg yolks, lemon juice and mix well.

2. Whisk egg whites with cream of tartar until foamy. Add in the sugar and whisk until soft peaks form.

3. Add the cheese mixture to the egg white mixture and mix well. Pour into a 8-inch round cake pan (Lightly grease and line the bottom and sides of the pan with greaseproof baking paper or parchment paper).

4. Bake cheesecake in a water bath for 1 hours 10 minutes or until set and golden brown at 160 degrees C.

 

 

 

 

 

Join the conversation! 26 Comments

  1. I think the wrinkly top adds appeal! It looks mighty tasty. =)

    Reply
  2. This looks delicious! Christmas will be here in a few months and I think this will be a great gift for my Japanese neighbors. =)

    Reply
  3. When do you add the salt? Can’t find a place in your instructions…maybe when you whisk the egg whites with cream of tartar?

    Reply
  4. […] time, I’ll be excited to try the “Japanese Cotton Cheesecake,” from droolfactor.wordpress.com. Curious? Come back to my site soon, to see what I do with […]

    Reply
  5. […] — look at this one. I’ve made the airy “Japanese Cotton Cheesecake,” from droolfactor.wordpress. com. It was eggy, like a custard, and not too sweet. Totally […]

    Reply
  6. I need a gram conversion chart…I guess i’d better google before I try this one!

    Reply
  7. They were ALWAYS wrinkly when I bought them in Hong Kong. But delicious! Thank you!

    Reply
  8. Does anyone know how to convert this

    Reply
  9. Just some tips :)
    It helps to sift the flours in.
    Always fold your ingredients together.
    When you’re making your egg whites, after mixing on a higher speed turn the speed down low for about 10 seconds to break up any larger air bubbles, they aren’t hugely noticeable at this stage but affect the end texture of the dessert ( if they’re broken up now the cake will be less likely to shrink in excess )
    and lastly, when your cheesecake is done cooking turn the oven off and leave it ajar for about 15 minutes to bring the temp down slowly, with all cheesecakes bringing the temp down slowly decreases cracking wrinkling and shifting of your end product :)

    Reply
  10. can i use all-purpose flour instead of cake flour? thanks

    Reply
  11. Do we need to use cakeflour if the cornstarch is in the ingredients as well O.o?

    Reply
  12. Made it today. Very delicious and easy to make

    Reply
  13. Given the flour and cream of tartar, it sounds (and looks) more like a sponge cake, or angel food cake, instead of a cheesecake. (also, by the by, there’s the French version of cheesecake, which is more like a custard than the New York version of cheesecake, which is drier).

    Interesting to see Eastern dessert recipes, though!

    Reply
  14. […] For full instructions please visit: DroolFactor […]

    Reply
  15. […] For more details please visit this link were you will find instructions: droolfactor.wordpress.com […]

    Reply
  16. Reblogged this on dancing for an audience of One – and commented:
    this is my favourite all-time dessert!!

    Reply
  17. Thanks you for this recipe! My mom and i made it today and it was fantastic!
    Thanks from Venezuela :)

    Reply
  18. Thanks this is great .going to try right now

    Reply
  19. does anyone have a conversion chart? I need to know in t, T and cups.
    Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags

, , ,