Some people are able to run their lives like well-oiled machines – stable, unchanging. Some people rock it with crazy happenings everyday and live by the motto of “go get ’em or else”…For me, I feel like I’m just unsettled – not simple, not rocking it either. Probably due to the fact that we moved to a whole different continent about 4 months ago. Although it’s back to where we call home, the feeling like we haven’t quite completed our journey is still hovering around.

Hubby and I are super blessed to have found an apartment to rent really quickly, we found jobs speedily too and we’re back into life as we once knew. Well…not quite. I’ve resigned from my brand new job – yes after just 2.5 months of action. It just wasn’t what I expected. It just wasn’t something I could see myself doing for the next few years. I had to leave. I’ve never ever done this in my life – probation period definitely holds new meaning for me now! So yeah, it’s back to square one.

Plus I just read an update from an acquaintance’s blog of their thoughts from a recent miscarriage. Made me super sad, which explains why I’m so melancholic at the mo. Sorry!!!

However, having said all that, I know I should be thankful – for all of God’s amazing blessings in my life. Especially for my hubby who is ever so gracious and supportive – I could quit a thousand jobs and he’ll still be okay with it. Thank you hunny! You’re the best! It’s now written for the world to see, so you can’t take it back !!! I love you!

I am also thankful that simple, pleasurable things do exist. Like this baked swordfish dish I made a while back, and the fact that tomorrow will be the first day of spring. Yippee!

EASY BAKED SWORDFISH WITH HERBS
Adapted from cuisine.com.au 

  • 4 medium sized swordfish steaks (about half an inch thick)
  • Sea salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 2 ripe tomatoes, halved, juice and seeds removed, and chopped
  • 3 tbsp chopped parsley
  • 1 tsp thyme leaves
  • 1 tsp rosemary leaves, finely chopped
  • 1/2 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • Splash of white wine
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • Extra virgin olive oil

Preheat oven to 180C.

Season fish with salt and pepper and place in an ovenproof dish. Combine the tomatoes, herbs and garlic in a bowl, then sprinkle over the fish. Add the white wine, lemon juice and a good drizzle of extra virgin olive oil. Bake in the oven for 12-15 minutes or until just cooked through.

Join the conversation! 4 Comments

  1. That’s so sweet, that your husband supports you so much. Very lovely to read. My husband and I are also contemplating a relocation so will be going through a lot of emotional highs and lows in the next few months am sure. Hope all is good where you are and a new and more suitable job is on the horizon for you. :)

    Reply
    • Thanks for your kind words! Relocations can be loads of fun but it can be equally emotional! I hope everything goes super smoothly for the both of you when do you decide to make that move. All the best!!

      Reply
  2. Hey, just wondering what size lemon or a guess on how much lemon juice you used. Reason being is that I have very large lemons from my tree and don’t want it to overpower the whole dish. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Just Thoughts, Recipes, Seafood

Tags

, , ,