November 11, 2011

Fig Jam and Apple Loaf

This one was created out of boredom. I’m what you may call a ‘lady of leisure’ nowadays except that shopping, afternoon teas, manicures and massages are not the order of the day. I’m not THAT kind of lady of leisure. Most of the time, I’m on the computer doing some freelance design work, looking for a job, watching TV, going to the gym and cooking. It’s become quite a routine actually and one that I’m kinda ready to give up (well, almost). I do have some activities I have yet to do – like museum visits, taking up a new sport, charity work etc. All talk for the moment, I might just get my butt off the couch and make them happen. Might.

So anyway, I felt like baking one day and had some of that wonderful fig jam from my trip to a berry farm recently, and I had one apple left in my crisper. I know my crisper sounds quite pathetic, it usually have several fresh veggies and fruit in it, but on this day that I decided to bake,  the solo apple was it. Either that or it was half a head of cabbage…Hmm.

I browsed through some websites, looked through my cookbooks and decided that I’ll whip up a cake that used both the fig jam and apple. I also threw in some leftover walnuts that I had and the whole combination was actually quite delish.

The cake turned out moist, thanks to the shredded apple and sticky figgy bits from the jam. I didn’t add in too much sugar bearing in mind that the jam will already add sweetness.

If I do try this again, I might add little bit of cinnamon or maybe a handful of raisins to add another dimension to a subtle fruity cake.

FIG JAM AND APPLE LOAF

125g butter, softened
1/2 cup (100g) firmly packed brown sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups (225g) self raising flour
1/2 cup (160g) fig jam
1 cup shredded apple (I used one medium apple)
1/2 cup (125ml) milk
25 g chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 180C. Grease and line a loaf tin.

Beat butter and sugar in an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time until just combined.

Stir in flour, jam, apple, walnuts and milk in two batches. Spoon cake mixture into prepared loaf tin.

Bake in oven for about 45 minutes. Cool on wire rack. Serve warm and if you’re indulgent like me, serve warm with a little spread of salted butter. Guilty but yum!

Join the conversation! 6 Comments

  1. This sounds and looks lovely. I don’t know what a crisper is, though I’d imagine it makes things crisp, but it sure does make nice cakes!

    Reply
  2. haha – hey now – there’s nothin wrong with being THAT lady of leisure ;)

    I have the same problem this week: cabbages and apples. you chose the right one, i think.

    Reply
  3. Can’t wait to give this a go – I even have some homemade Fig Jam in the fridge just begging to be used!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags

, ,