January 14, 2012

Kueh Bangkit

According to the chinese lunar calendar, this is the year of the dragon. The dragon is the only legendary animal represented in the chinese zodiac. I was born in the year of the tiger. Actually, because I was born between the cow and tiger years, my chinese zodiac is really a mutant – head of the tiger and butt of the cow. Don’t ask. I do not know what it all means and what significance there is with regards to the chinese zodiac. All I ever knew as a kid, was that chinese new year is a time for visiting relatives, eating non-stop and red packets (little red envelopes filled with cash bestowed on the kids as a blessing of prosperity from our elders). Now that I am a married adult living far away from Singapore, none of these festivities mean much anymore.

I do however miss the wonderful array of chinese new year goodies – pineapple tarts, kueh bangkit, love letters, kueh lapis, mini spicy spring rolls, bbq pork jerky (bak kua) and more. So much more! On a few occasions when major cravings kick in, I attempted to make some of these snacks at home, some with great success, some were a little ‘meh’.

My kueh bangkit attempt was one of the ‘meh’ ones. Kueh Bangkit is a traditional tapioca and coconut cookie. It’s actually a rather strange cookie because when you first pop it in your mouth, it starts off being dry and chalky but soon enough it will melt in the mouth and it becomes fragrant, sweet and delicious. The making process seems simple enough but there’s a certain trick to the kneading of the dough that determines the melting quality of the cookie. I haven’t quite got that. My cookie’s chalky to melty time took too long for my liking. Will I attempt it again? Maybe. For now, I think I’ll just stick to making the hubby’s favourite pineapple tarts.

If any of you are game to give it a go, there are many youtube videos out there showing the kueh bangkit making technique. Good luck!!

KUEH BANGKIT
Recipe from Lily Wai Sek Hong

225g tapioca flour
3 pandan leaves cut into small pieces
30g margarine
65g icing sugar
1 egg yolk
75ml – 90ml coconut milk
a pinch of salt
Method:
1. Line a large microwave safe bowl with greaseproof paper, microwave the flour and pandan leaves on high 1 min at a time for 5 times, stirring every minute.

2. Set aside, cool completely before using.

3. Cream margarine with sugar and yolk till sugar dissolves.

4. Add in 75ml coconut milk and mix well.

5. Add flour to mix till a non-sticky dough is formed. If dough is too dry, add more coconut milk but add 1 tsp at a time, otherwise, dough may be too sticky. Leave dough to rest covered with a damp cloth.

6. Take a quarter of the dough and roll on a floured table (about 2cm thick) use cookie cutters to cut into shapes.

7. Line baking tray with greaseproof paper. Spread cookies on an even layer. Bake in preheated oven at 160C for 15 mins. Cookies should not brown.

Join the conversation! 8 Comments

  1. They look and sound wonderful!

    Reply
  2. ooooh i love these!!
    We just had hubby’s colleague come over from SG – so we got our supply of pineapple tarts & bak kua!! Already worked our thru one box of tars & 500g of bak kua… ahhhh… satisfaction!
    i may try – next year to make my own pineapple tarts but for now we depend on friends who are passing thru ;)
    Enjoy! GongXiFaCai!

    Reply
    • Sandra!! Jealous! I want bak kwa too! I actually make them as well but it’s cooked in the oven so there’s no charred BBQ flavour!

      Reply
      • hmmm… i have a friend in the US who also makes bak kwa – she actually sells them – maybe should ask her how she makes hers…
        Isn’t it a lot of work to make bak kwa?
        oh i forgot to say we also have a package of those spicy prawn rolls – u know the ones i’m talking about? They look like tiny deep fried spring rolls – they are sooo addictive – i thot my little guy won’t like them – but he loves them ;)

      • I know what you’re talking about. Those are my all time fave CNY snack!! The spicier the better! Oh yum.

        Bak kwa is actually very easy to make at home. I’ll make a batch sometime soon and post it so you can try it at home too. It tastes good even though there’s no charred BBQ taste. Probably healthier too cos I grill it in the oven. Well at least I hope it is :)

      • Well consuming less carbon is the goal, isn’t it? ;) Have u tried to grill it on the bbq?
        Oh it would be nice of you to send me some of your homemade bak kwa but i think the postage would be too much… post the recipe instead & i’ll try to make it & let u know how i go with it ;)

  3. ooh btw I’ve nominated your blog for The Versatile Blogger Award. Please visit http://trippingdifferently.com for details.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Asian Yums, Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags

, , , , ,