I’m currently hooked on an Aussie reality TV show called My Kitchen Rules. Oh. My. Gosh. Real live drama and cooking competition combined makes great after-work entertainment. Watching this programme really shows how much post-editing TV stations do…it’s so obvious how they pick a couple to focus on each week and make them the ones to love or hate. You should see the real-time comments on Twitter about the contestants and the nicknames they are given. Hilarious! It’s double the fun – watching and tweeting that is! Yeah, I’m hooked – big time!

Anyway, this post has nothing to do with the show I’m just a little distracted. And I’m currently craving for frozen yogurt. Again, not the point of this post.

We’re talking about corn. Sweet, succulent corn – in a can. Don’t diss the canned stuff cos they are good! I always try to have a couple of cans stocked in the pantry because these little, golden morsels of goodness are very versatile and handy for when you’re out of fresh food because you haven’t made a trip to the markets. By you, I mean me. Slack much?

I’ve made these spiced corn fritters before and they are so easy and so good. It’s one of the few vegetarian dishes that I make which the hubs has no qualms about – he actually really enjoys it and doesn’t go “where’s the meat?”. It’s usually served as a snack or appetiser, but make enough of them and it’s a complete, yummy and (rather) healthy meal.

Spiced Sweet Corn Fritters with Sweet and Spicy Dipping Sauce
Adapted from Simply Recipes
Makes about 16 – 20 fritters

Dipping Sauce

  • 3/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons red chili pepper flakes
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced

Fritters

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 cups of corn kernels
  • 4 spring onions, finely sliced (about half a cup)
  • Canola, or peanut oil (a high smoke point oil) for frying

Make the dipping sauce by combining all of the sauce ingredients into a small saucepan. Cook on medium heat, stirring with a wooden spoon, until sugar dissolves. Increase the heat to medium high, let boil for 5-10 minutes or so, until the mixture becomes somewhat syrupy. Remove from heat and let cool. The sauce should continue to thicken as it cools. If it becomes too thick, you can add a little water to it to thin it out a bit.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, ground coriander, and ground cumin in a medium bowl. Add egg, lemon juice and water. Stir vigorously with a wooden spoon until smooth. Add the corn and spring onions. Stir until just combined.

Heat a large frying pan on medium high heat. Add enough oil to generously coat the bottom of the pan. When oil is hot (shimmering not smoking), spoon about 2 heaping tablespoons worth of fritter batter into the pan to form one fritter, patting it down with the back of the spoon as soon as it is in the pan. Work in batches. Leave about 1/2 inch between the fritters in the pan. Let cook about 2-3 minutes on each side, flipping the fritters when they are nicely browned on one side. When browned on the other side, remove the fritters to a plate lined with paper towels to absorb the excess oil.

Serve hot with dipping sauce.

Join the conversation! 12 Comments

  1. They look really very good! The colour is very impressive.

    Reply
  2. This must be very tasty : ) I could also imagine it with some sour cream dip…

    Reply
  3. Your corn fritters really sound good and your photos are great.

    Reply
  4. Pinning this!! They look and sound soooo droolicious!

    Reply
  5. Great photo! I had totally forgotten about corn fritter until I saw your post. My mom used to make them and we ate them with maple syrup. I’ll have to try your recipe it sounds delicious!

    Reply
  6. Sweetcorn is my favourite vegetable – these look great, just the right proportions of corn and fritter!

    Reply
  7. Yum! Making these soon – like tonight.

    Reply
  8. So easy & looks so yummy! & i think it’s great that the “hotness” is in the sauce… i can serve this with ketchup for the kid ;)

    Reply
  9. These look so good….we ate something like this in Indonesia…yum!

    Reply
  10. We just ate these for dinner (following your recipe). They are awesome! I love the dipping sauce!

    Reply
  11. Just made these for lunch and I’m definitely re-heating my leftovers for dinner! They were simply amazing! so tasty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Recipes, Veggies & Salads

Tags

, , ,