My obsession with cookies and cream is far from over. Cookies and cream cheesecake – check, cookies and cream cupcakes – check, cookies and cream ice-cream – check. And now for the fourth instalment of my love story with Oreos. Cookies and cream macarons!

I don’t know what it is about that humble little chocolate cookie that makes me want to crumble it, deconstruct it and relive its flavours over and over and over.

Since macarons were long overdue in my imaginary baking calendar, I thought it would be a good idea to incorporate the American cookie with its French counterpart.

It resulted in a tasty union. I had various shades of macarons in this batch – thanks to my oven with its uneven temperature and even rotating the trays did not help much. Anyway, some were browner than others but really, who cares? The truth was…I did…for like two seconds, and all was quickly forgotten when I popped one of them in my mouth. Mmmm…

To add to the cookie-ness of it all, I dusted each macaron shell with a topping of oreo crumbs. More for aesthetics really, as there’s enough cookie-ness in the shells and filling.

Cookies and cream macaron
Makes 24

Macaron shells:
280g almond meal or ground blanched almonds
20g finely processed oreo cookie crumbs (biscuit only, no cream filling!)
200g confectioners’ sugar
200g sugar
50g water
150g egg whites, divided into two 75g portions
2 more Oreo cookies, crumbled (without cream filling) – for topping

Line trays with a silicone baking mat or parchment paper.

Process almond meal and cookie crumbs with confectioners’ sugar in a food processor. Sieve out any large bits of almond or cookie.

Combine sugar and water in a saucepan. Heat on medium until all the sugar is dissolved.

Meanwhile, place 75g of egg whites in a mixer bowl with the whisk attachment.

Continue cooking until the sugar syrup reaches 118 C/245 F. While the sugar is cooking, begin whisking the egg whites. They should reach stiff peaks by the time the syrup is at 245 F. If it whips too fast, turn down or turn off the mixer.

Turn the mixer speed to low. Carefully pour the sugar syrup in a slow stream into the mixer.

Turn the mixer speed to high and let the meringue for several minutes until it has cooled and appears glossy and firm.

In a large bowl, combine the almond meal mixture with the remaining 75g of egg whites until partially combined.

Scoop the meringue on top of the almond meal mixture. Using a spatula or dough scraper, carefully fold the meringue in, trying not to deflate it.

The final batter should be thick and flow slowly like magma. Do not overmix.

Scoop the batter into a piping bag fitted with a ½” diameter plain tip.

Pipe 1 ½” rounds of batter onto the prepared baking sheets. Sprinkle cookie crumbs on half of the shells. Let the sheets sit for about 30 minutes to let the shells harden.

Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 160 C/320 F.

Bake each set of macarons for 12-14 minutes, rotating once.

Let tray cool for a few minutes before removing from the trays. Let finish cooling on wire racks.

Filling:
120g icing sugar sieved
150g unsalted butter softened
pinch of salt
5 Oreos, crumbled finely including cream filling

Beat the icing sugar and butter and salt using an electric beater until smooth.
Mix in the crumbled cookies.

Join the conversation! 25 Comments

  1. I really like the colours of these! Very nice photos.

    Reply
  2. These look so good! Love idea of combing the American and French cookies together.

    Reply
  3. Amazing!! These look and sound fantastic. You could easily sell these in a bakery. ;)

    Reply
  4. cookies&cream macs – what a great combo! btw, if anyone wants to know how to start a macaron business then check this out http://www.themacaronmaster.com/ it also gives detailed instructions how to create bakery-quality macarons that look totally smooth and taste delicious. :)

    Reply
  5. They sound amazing… but seems like a lot of work with the mixing & the cooling etc… question: what if i don’t have a candy thermometer? how do i know the sugar/water is ready? also is confectioners sugar the same as caster sugar?

    Reply
    • Sandra, you’ll need a thermometer for this. I’d recommend a digital food thermometer which works for everything (instead of getting a candy thermometer). Confectioners sugar is what we know as icing sugar :) you should try! It’s fun!

      Reply
      • hmmm… i have been thinking about getting a food thermometer… i guess it’s time to get one now, huh? hehheee ;) any excuse to spend on a kitchen gadget ;) Ah… icing sugar – ok that i can easily get here… thanks will have to try but at the moment am a little baked out… son’s birthday week :p

  6. […] petite size, variety of flavors and just because they are cute! Here we share a great recipe from Drool Factor that indeed will make you […]

    Reply
  7. Hi, do we combine hth caster and icing sugar together?

    Reply
  8. Yes sorry, I read that after I commented. I made hem today but they turned out very runny :(

    Reply
    • Macarons can be very tricky and temperamental. Practice makes perfect – I’ve had many failed attempts before! Sounds like you overmixed the almond mixture and meringue, it needs to look like slow-moving magma…

      Reply
  9. They look absolutely delish!
    Did you put any colouring in the macaroon mixture or did the Oreos give it that lovely brown colour… because I noticed in the Apple and Eddlebury Macarons – they were pink!

    Reply
  10. hi! do you use an electric oven or fan forced? I have a fan forced oven and whenever I make these macarons (I have tried 3 times), they aren’t the texture of a macaron appearance wise, they’re kind of lumpy. I’ve left them out on the bench top for over two hours before and they didn’t have feet. is it because I over mixed it? hope you can reply soon. thanks

    Reply
    • Hey Vivienne, don’t give up! So many things can go wrong, I know cos I’ve had many feetless macs before. For the lumpy issue, make sure you sieve your almond meal in case there are course bits and also once you’ve piped the macs, knock tray against the table to release extra air bubbles.

      For the feet – many things could be the cause. Batter too thin perhaps? Overmixing is usually the problem. But it could also be that the egg whites are too fresh. They need to be aged – separate whites and store in airtight container in the fridge for 1-2 days before using. Also resting period shouldn’t be too long – max about 40 minutes to an hour.

      I currently use a fan forced oven. Good luck!

      Reply
  11. Is there a typo in the recipe? 280g is A LOT of Almond Meal in comparison to the amount of egg whites so the recipe doesn’t really make any sense.
    I had my doubts, but I decided to give this recipe a go anyway, and the batter came out very thick and heavy. The consistency just wasn’t right.

    Your macarons in the photos look amazing though.

    Reply
    • Hey Jack. Sorry your attempt was not successful. I’ve checked the recipe and it seems right. I’ve seen various recipes, some even have 500g almond meal to 190g egg whites. The best basic recipe for me so far is 200g almond meal to 150g egg whites but you should find one that works for you. Keep trying, don’t give up!

      Reply
  12. Hi there, I’m making these for my school project and was just wondering for the other 75g of egg whites that is not whipped and added to the almond meal mixture, do I add it RAW with the almond meal and then add the whipped meringue into that? Or do I whip that as well? Just a bit confused :/ yours looks amazing though :)

    Reply
  13. […] 3. A couple of years ago, a friend bought me this macaroon set. I’m thinking that this is the year I finally break it out to make cookies and cream macaroons. […]

    Reply
  14. I have used your recipe, successfully (thank you!), many, many times up until a couple of weeks ago. I had perfect macarons, but then the weather changed and in rolled the humidity. Now, my shells are soft and wrinkled. :( No matter the temperature I’ve baked them at (I’ve tried a million variations of high and low heat), whether the oven door is slightly ajar, or if I’m running the AC (yes, I bought one just for making macarons), my macarons remain soft, wrinkled, and chewy! I am nearly ready to throw in the towel and give up! Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Any insight you may have would be fantastic!!! Thank you! ..Kim..

    Reply
    • Hi Kim. I’ve never tried this method before as I avoid making macarons when it’s humid! You could give it a shot?

      Try drying the freshly piped macaron shells in a pre-heated oven for 15 mins at 50deg C followed by cranking the temperature up to 150deg C and baking it for 12 minutes.

      Good luck!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Desserts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags

, , , ,