Winter officially made its grand entrance today in Melbourne. It’s been a shade of cool grey 8 (think Copic markers). Thick fog descended upon us in the CBD from mid-morning and decided to stay for the rest of the day. M-i-s-e-r-a-b-l-e! What happened to the eternal sunshine that we boasted of downunder? Gah!!!!

On days like these, all I want is a plate of comforting carbs to soothe the sadness away. Preferably one that can be whipped up in no time and accompanied by a nice glass of vino. Like this simple and delicious pan-fried gnocchi with tomato, bacon and basil.

I’ve never been a big fan of gnocchi. Just as I’m not a big fan of mashed potato or other mushy potato products. I’d usually enjoy a couple mouthfuls and that’s about it. It’s probably something to do with the cloying texture of mushed-up taters – not my thing. Pan-fried gnocchi however, has a slightly crisp exterior and chewy insides which I recently grown to love.

The standard way to cook gnocchi is to boil them like you would any other pasta before pan-frying them. I like frying them directly, skipping the boiling process. I find that with this method, it produces a puffed up, crispier gnocchi which is super yummy.

Going along with the idea that this is a quick and easy meal, I’ve used store-bought gnocchi and canned tomatoes. Can’t get simpler than this. Prep time 2 minutes. Cooking time 15- 20 minutes. Oh yes.

Pan-fried gnocchi with tomato, bacon and basil
Serves 2 hungry fellas or 4 regular people

500g gnocchi
1 x 400ml can of crushed or chopped tomatoes
Large handful of basil leaves, torn
2 strips of smoked bacon, sliced
1 clove of garlic, crushed
50g of grated parmesan
Olive oil
1/2 tsp of sugar
Salt and pepper for seasoning

Heat a good drizzle of olive oil in a pan, add gnocchi (you can pre-boil them first if you wish, but I didn’t) and fry till slightly puffed up and golden (about 7 – 10 minutes). Add garlic and bacon, fry for about 3 minutes or until aroma of fried bacon is wafting through the entire house. Add tomatoes and warm through. Season with sugar, salt and pepper. Stir through torn basil leaves. Serve with another drizzle of good olive oil and grated parmesan. Done!

Join the conversation! 5 Comments

  1. That looks absolutely wonderful – I definitely am drooling. Gnocchi is one of my favourite pastas. You say you don’t like gnocchi usually – could I suggest trying to make it yourself? It has a FAR better texture if you do and it’s really very simple :)

    Reply
  2. hmm… i’m definitely not a fan of gnocchi… but this does sound interesting ;)

    Reply
  3. OMG, I nearly died when i read that you use store bought gnocchi :> Having grown up with my dad’s and aunt’s home cooked gnocchi, I first tired store bought when i moved away for university. Store bought gnocchi tastes terrible!! I couldn’t believe it could be so bad – I read through the ingredients list and although the ingredients similar, you just can beat the fresh homemade taste. Dad used potatoes with milk, butter and salt to make the mash then added flour and an egg to make the gnocchi. That’s it. As a kid I used to think his hand contained some kind of magic to make them taste so good.
    I will give your recipe a go, lol, but still don’t like the store bought stuff.

    Reply
  4. i have made fresh gnocchi and have to say there is nothing better than making them fresh. i refuse to make store bought gnocchi since they generally sit around for 6 to 8 months. your pictures look good though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Pork, Recipes, Rice, Noodles, Pasta

Tags

, , ,