There are days when I feel like baking and in my head I picture elaborate layered cakes with glossy frosting or perfect pastries with melt in the mouth creme patissiere. The reality is I’d rather get the baking done quickly so I can sit in front of the TV and stuff my face with cake. The sooner done, the better. And who am I kidding? Elaborate layered cakes only live somewhere in my head probably from a snapshot of someone else’s hard work on the web or in cookbooks.

So at times like these,  I could pop around the corner to the mini supermarket and get a loaf of factory made shrink wrapped madeira cake  (triple yuck) or I take out my cake tray, pause the TV and get cracking on this.

Red velvet cake and cream cheese frosting are like BFFs. So when I discovered that cream cheese which I thought was in my fridge didn’t really exist, I resorted to cream cheese frosting’s much lighter and healthier cousin – meringue frosting. Sweeeeeet.

Red Velvet Sheet Cake with Meringue Frosting
Cake recipe adapted from The Pioneer Woman and Smitten Kitchen

  • 1 cup canola oil (instead of shortening which was in the original recipe)
  • 1-3/4 cup Sugar
  • 2-1/2 cups Cake Flour
  • 1-1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 1 cup Buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1-1/2 teaspoon Vinegar
  • 1-1/2 ounce, fluid Red Food Coloring
  • 1-1/2 teaspoon Cocoa Powder (not Dutch processed, just the regular stuff)

Preheat oven to 180 C (350F) degrees. Thoroughly spray a large sheet cake pan with baking spray, be generous with the spray.

Whisk cake flour, cocoa and salt in a bowl.

Place oil and sugar in bowl of an electric mixer and beat at medium speed until well-blended. Beat in eggs one at a time. With machine on low, very slowly add red food coloring. Add vanilla. Add flour mixture alternately with buttermilk in two batches. Scrape down bowl and beat just long enough to combine.

Place baking soda in a small dish, stir in vinegar and add to batter with machine running. Beat for 10 seconds.

Pour batter into prepared sheet cake pan. Even out the surface. Bake for 20 minutes or until an inserted skewer comes out clean. Remove pan from oven and allow cake to cool completely before icing.

Italian Meringue Frosting

2/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup water
3 egg whites (room temperature)
1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar
1 teaspoon vanilla or other flavoring
2 tablespoons sugar

Mix 2/3 cup sugar and water together and bring to a boil until a temperature of 275 is reached on a candy thermometer.

As the syrup reaches its temperature, beat the egg whites with the cream of tartar, 2 tablespoons sugar until the whites form soft peaks.

Remove syrup from heat add the syrup in a small stream while continuing to beat the mixture with the electric mixer.

Beat about 3 more minutes. The mixture will form glossy peaks and thicken.

Add the vanilla and mix a bit more.

Frost the cake immediately.

*Although this frosting is super easy to make and is much healthier than cream cheese, it doesn’t keep as well. Maximum two days refrigerated – that is if your cake lasts that long to begin with!

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Desserts, Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags

, , , ,