September 12, 2012

You win some…sometimes.

About 10 years ago, I won a Christmas raffle. The prizes include a bunch of household stuff contributed by the participating retail stores in that street, all of which I no longer own, or have no recollection of. Well, except for the Christmas tree. Yes, I won a Christmas tree, but in the heat of Melbourne’s summer, it died a sad, sad death. I only remember the tree because I spent many hours picking up stray pine needles from the carpet after. Pitiful. Anyway, the point of this story is that aside from that one time, I never win anything.

Until now! Actually, this happened at the beginning of the year. Michael Shafran, author and ‘recipe whisperer’ started The Melting Pot which is a great hub for contributor recipes. A competition was held just before the website was launched. To participate, we had to submit a recipe of our heritage. Naturally I picked one of my favourites – Singapore home-style Hainanese Chicken Rice  – and was extremely pleased to be picked as one of five finalists!

All finalists were awarded a Tojiro knife – we got to choose between a Sha Ra Ku Mono chef’s knife, or a Santoku knife. And here is the beautifully, crafted piece of art. It’s so purdeee!

So this is a rather random post of how one can be so excited about winning a knife, but when the spring sun has gone into hiding and it’s all gloomy again outside, I have to find something to be excited about. And this was it. Short-lived excitement. I’ll have another food-related post on the way soon. Promise.

Join the conversation! 2 Comments

  1. I love kitchenware – especially knives. Woman, now you are dangerous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Just Thoughts

Tags

,