October 1, 2012

Easy fudgey brownies

I have a problem. I own a number of really amazing cookbooks and have recently added a few more to my collection. I love browsing through them and getting ideas for recipes as well as oogle at the gorgeous food photography or typography. But when it comes to last minute cooking inspiration, I tend to just whip out the iPhone or iPad and surf the web. Whaaatt??

Take last Sunday for example, I woke up and decided that I needed to bake. I didn’t care what, I just wanted to get the butter, sugar and flour out. So instead of getting out of bed and flipping through my cookbooks, I stayed in bed and surfed YouTube for recipes. Gosh, how low can one go right?

This recipe for fudgey brownies came from Laura Vitale of Laura in the Kitchen. I’m sure we all have our ‘go-to’ brownie recipe, I had one too. But after watching Laura’s version, I chucked my age-old high school brownie recipe and dived straight into the kitchen for my baking therapy.

Loved, loved, loved this fudgey brownie. Chewy and super chocolatey – just the way I think brownies should be and it’s really easy to make. No excuses for anyone wanting to reach for the pre-mixed brownie box!

FUDGEY BROWNIES
Adapted from Laurainthekitchen.com

Ingredients:
140g (5 oz) of unsalted butter, at room temperature
200g (7 oz) of 70% dark chocolate, melted
200g (approx 1 cup) of castor sugar
2 tsp of vanilla extract
¼ tsp of salt
1 tbsp cocoa powder
2 large eggs
2 tbsp of espresso coffee
75 g (2/3 cup) of plain flour

Preheat oven to 180C (350F). Spray an 8 by 8 inch square pan with non stick cooking spray and lay the bottom with parchment paper. Set aside.

In a large bowl whisk together the sugar and butter until fluffy. Add the eggs, vanilla extract and espresso. Beat until all is combined.

Add the melted chocolate and whisk, add the dry ingredients and mix everything together until it’s incorporated but don’t over mix.

Pour batter into your prepared pan, spread evenly and bake for about 40 minutes or until when a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out with moist crumbs but not wet batter.

Cool for about 5 minutes in the pan and then transfer them to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Join the conversation! 12 Comments

  1. They look SO fudgy – very impressive. Exactly how a brownie should be.

    Reply
  2. Looks great & sounds so easy… do u think it would still work if i skipped the espresso?? Don’t like coffee & don’t have a coffee machine at home…

    Reply
  3. i can see why these brownies are so therapeutic. yum!

    Reply
  4. Made these this evening, came out beautifully! They are very rich though, I could only have one!

    Reply
  5. […] decided to search for the ultimate brownie recipe. My first attempt, the brownie recipe from Drool Factor. I picked the recipe because it seemed like one that would work. First, it had that obviously […]

    Reply
  6. […] My first attempt, the brownie recipe from Drool Factor. […]

    Reply
  7. this will make how many pieces ?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Desserts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags

, ,