cinnrolls1

I’ve said this many times before – I’m not great at pre-planning. Usually when I have a last minute craving for something home-made, it has to be quick and easy.

A few weekends ago, I woke up and decided I NEEDED some hot cinnamon rolls for a lazy Sunday breakfast.

The traditional bready cinnamon roll requires the standard straight bread dough prep – which means incorporating yeast into the flour, letting it rise etc. And it usually means preparing ahead of time. Which brings me back to my first point – I don’t do that very well. So, hot cinnamon rolls on a whim? Not a chance…oh wait, unless you go for the no-yeast version.

Thanks to all the folks out there who decided that cinnamon rolls need not have to be the yeasty bready kind. Yay to you! I got this recipe off the net, and gave it a shot.

Nothing beats freshly baked cinnamon rolls. Bready or cakey. The texture of this no-yeast cinnamon roll is a little more like a firm muffin. It lacks the chewiness of the bready roll, which I love. However, everything else is spot on. Gooey, buttery, cinnamony with some caramelly crunchy bits…all washed down with a fresh cup of joe or in my case, strong, black tea. Buttery bliss on a Sunday morning.

P/S: I didn’t glaze the rolls because the amount of sugar in this thing is enough to scare away the sugar fairy but if you prefer to keep your sweet tooth happy, the glaze option’s below.

cinnrolls2

No-Yeast Cinnamon Roll
Recipe from food.com
Makes 12

 

Dough
2 cups flour(220g)
2 tablespoons sugar
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons butter (43g)
3/4 cup milk (approx 177ml)

Filling
4 tablespoons butter (56g)
1 cup brown sugar (200g)
3 teaspoons cinnamon

Method

For the filling, in a small bowl combine softened butter, brown sugar and cinnamon to form a crumbly mixture.

Sprinkle 1/4 of the mixture over the bottom of a 9×9 pan.

In a large bowl mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.

Cut or rub in softened butter till it resembles bread crumbs.

Stir in milk to form a soft dough.

Roll out dough into a rectangle on a lightly floured into a rectangle about 1/4 inch thick.

Spread the remaining filling on the rolled out dough.

Roll up the rectangle, with a sharp knife slice into 12 pieces.

Bake for 20-25 min at 400°F  (200°C).

Glaze
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/4 milk

Combine powdered sugar and milk in a small bowl and stir until smooth.

Once rolls are out of the oven, drizzle on glaze and serve warm.

Join the conversation! 4 Comments

  1. Planning is a VERY difficult thing to do and is best not attempted unless one is an expert… Still, these sound amazing!

    Reply
  2. Looks so yummy! i’m not great at planning ahead either ;) thanks for sharing this one…

    Reply
  3. You just helped me find a recipe for these!!! I hate waiting around for what I want to eat, especially at home (things in the oven…..ugh!). Thank you!!!

    Reply
  4. oh i love this! i am putting this on my “too bake soon” list!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags

, ,