bakedbbcheese1

Whew, birthday month is over. There are just too many amazing people in my life born in the month of January. It started with my very own birthday (ahem!), to a couple of my colleagues’, to my mum’s, to my best friend’s and right through to the hubby’s on the last day of the month. Many celebratory meals in the form of a picnic, a hoity-toity degustation, brunches, lunches and dinners were had. Good times often do come with expanding waistlines! This is another reason why I never have weight-loss new year resolutions. It’s pointless.

Now the one thing my hubby enjoys most for his birthday is to have his very own home-made birthday cake (preferably all to himself) which he can enjoy throughout his birthday week.

bakedbbcheese2

This year, I whipped out his all-time favourite baked blueberry cheesecake. I’m not even sure where I got this recipe from, but it is one of my rare, handwritten recipes in my book which I have tried and enjoyed countless times. I doubt it was from a cookbook (why else would I have re-written it), or that it was found online (maybe? but I can’t seem to find the exact same recipe again).

bakedbbcheese3

Wherever it’s from, I’m just glad I have it, and now I’m sharing it here. So go forth my friends, bake, eat and prosper!

BAKED BLUEBERRY CHEESECAKE
Makes a 9″/24cm cake

For the base
200g digestives biscuits
100g melted butter

For the cheesecake
1 x 250g cream cheese (I use Philadelphia)
1/3 cup whipping cream
4 eggs
1 cup sugar
2 tbsp plain flour
2 tbsp cornstarch
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup sour cream
1/3 cup melted butter
1 cup of blueberries (I usually put in at least 1/2 a cup more!)

Method:

1. Lightly grease a springform cake tin. Process digestive biscuits to fine crumbs in a food processor. Mix crumbs and melted butter well in a bowl before layering it on the base of the cake tin. Press down evenly and firmly. Leave the tin in the fridge while you prepare the rest of the cake.

2. Preheat oven to 220C/420F.

Beat cream cheese, cream, sugar, eggs, flour, cornstarch, vanilla extract and lemon juice until light.

3. Gently mix in sour cream and melted butter. The mixture is quite runny. Gently fold in blueberries.

5. Remove tin from the fridge, pour in cake mixture.

6. Bake in the oven at 220C/420F for 15 minutes, then lower the oven and bake at 140C/280F for about an hour or until cake is no longer wobbly in the middle. I rotate my cake halfway through for even baking.

Best served fully cooled.

bakedbbcheese4

Join the conversation! 9 Comments

  1. I love cheesecake, especially simple baked ones like this! I’d double the amount of base though… it’s the best bit :D

    Reply
  2. i’m interested in making your dheesecake recipe; however i noticed that you included FLOUR in your instructions but flour was not listed in your ingredients. how much flour would i add to the cream cheese mixture?

    Reply
  3. looks delicious but could you translate what is 200g? and 100g ??/ what would tha be in ounces ??? Thanks Liz

    Reply
  4. Noticed whipping cream listed in ingredients but not listed in method. Should i just add this into the mixture?

    Reply
  5. just made this cheesecake hope it comes out ok just took it out of the oven.. will let u no…

    Reply
  6. Was divine but had to put a plate under my baking dish as the butter melted and seeped thru the ring… there was butter in the biscuit and butter in the mixture too..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Desserts, Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags

, ,