The last few months have been hectic but in a very good way. First to San Francisco, then an East Coast road trip from NYC to Charleston, then Chicago then Hawaii. I am so grateful for these travel opportunities. New York is still a favourite destination of mine. So much to see, explore, do and eat! I’m culling and editing my photos and will share some of my holiday highlights along the way, starting with Katz’s Delicatessen in New York. An institution loved by many, locals and tourists alike. It was certainly an experience for me and I loved every moment of it, chaos and all.

We were greeted by the ‘hostess’ who asked if we wanted table service or self-service. We looked over to the self-service counters with hoards of people yelling over one another and promptly opted for table service. We were just not brave enough to face all that after a 20+ hour flight. No thanks. We went with matzo ball soup (just because you gotta have some Jewish penicillin to recover from the long journey), meaty platter of pastrami, corned beef and brisket, mediocre bread to go with it, tons of tangy pickles all washed down with house-brand iced lemon tea. – couldn’t have asked for a better start to our trip. I love New York City.

KatzDeli

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Dining Out, Travelling Tummy

Tags

, , ,