April 22, 2014

Chelsea Market + MSG

I went to Chelsea market for one thing – a lobster lunch. It was wet, cold and dreary, but once inside the market, with the heating at an almost uncomfortable level, we went in search of the Lobster Place. Here, you pick out the freshest shellfish, desired size (weight) and they’ll steam it for you, accompanied with clarified butter and lemon wedges. There is nothing better than to stand shoulder to shoulder with strangers (with the French tourists next to us having a bout of food envy, either that or they’re scoffing at our barbaric ways), devouring our beautiful lobster.

Chelsea market is not quite has big as I had imagined. I was expecting a sprawling indoor/outdoor market, much like Borough Market in London, but it was much smaller and way more poshy-poshy. There weren’t food stalls per se, instead, you get individually segregated shops, some with a few stalls within. There’s even a very civilised gallery, which was showcasing a food photography exhibit at that time. What a bonus!

Chelsea-market

And on a totally unrelated note, I went to my very first ice hockey game! The hubs booked tickets a couple months in advance and we got pretty decent seats at Madison Square Gardens. I’m not a huge sports nut, but my rule thus far, is that I would support the very first team I watch live, with the exception of New England Patriots, which I picked first because I liked their logo best. (Cue the hubs rolling his eyes right about now.)

Rangers-MSGChelsea Market
75 9th Avenue (Between 15th and 16 Streets),
New York, NY 10011

Madison Square Gardens
4 Pennsylvania Plaza, New York, NY 10001

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Photoblog, Travelling Tummy

Tags

, , ,