chickenbun

I’ve had a major distraction in my life recently. This fella.

buddy

He’s the cutest bundle of joy and I’m totally in love. But it also means that cooking and blogging has taken a major back seat. But I’m baaaccck!!

For those wishing to try a new recipe, this one’s an easy one – steamed chinese style chicken buns. Similar to those you find in Chinese dumpling (dim sum) restaurants. Soft, fluffy white buns encasing a delicious mix of fresh chicken, mushrooms and vegetables. Which part of that doesn’t sound good eh?

Being back in Melbourne is awesome. Having access to so many asian grocery shops means I can get my hands on the many short-cut ingredients like this bun flour.

bunflour

When I was in London, I couldn’t find these and so had to make everything from scratch – which wasn’t all that difficult to be honest (whinge, whinge). They came out fine in my pork buns anyway!

With this pre-mixed bun flour, all I had to do was follow the packet instructions to get the dough ready, prepare the filling, wrap them up and steam. Too easy!

sealedbao

steamer

STEAMED CHINESE STYLE CHICKEN BUNS

For the dough:

  • 1 packet of bun flour
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1 tbsp cooking oil ( I used canola)

Remove 2 tbsp of flour and leave aside for later use.

Mix the remaining flour with the milk and sugar. Knead the dough well for 10 minutes. Add the spoon of cooking oil and knead until oil is well incorporated.

Leave to rest, covered with a damp cloth for 30 minutes.

For the filling:

  • 2 chicken breast fillets
  • 1 big leaf of napa cabbage (finely shredded)
  • 3-4 dried shitake mushrooms (soak in hot water to soften, then sliced into thin strips/pieces)
  • Handful of cilantro/coriander leaves, chopped
  • 3/4 teaspoon corn starch
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon chicken bouillon powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon fish sauce
  • 3 dashes white pepper powder

Mix all the filling ingredients and set aside.

Cut up 12-15 pieces of parchment paper into 1.5 inch squares.

When the dough is ready, divide into 12-15 equal portions. Roll into a ball and flatten with a rolling pin into a flat disc. Use the reserved flour for the bench to prevent sticking.

Place about 1 to 2 tsp of filling in the centre of the disc, pleat the edges and make sure they are well sealed. Place bun on a parchment square. Repeat until dough and ingredients are finished.

Lay buns sitting on their parchment in a bamboo steamer. Make sure there is enough room for the buns to expand. Steam for 15 minutes (or refer to your bun packet instructions). Transfer and serve immediately.

Note: Add a few drops of white vinegar to the steaming water – apparently this makes the bun whiter.

insidebao

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Uncategorized