There is absolutely no way you can plan a visit to Barcelona, Spain without raving about its culinary delights. I mean, just the tapas alone will make your trip worth its while. Yes of course, the non-food obsessed beings will enjoy the history and cultural arts side – with the famous works of Gaudi, Parc Guell, Sagrada Familia, Las Ramblas etc. However this was not my first trip to Barcelona and it was only a 2-day stopover, so I had to plan my days around food! No time to lose!

Steering clear of the tourist hot spots like Las Ramblas, we visited surrounding quiet neighbourhoods (barrios) in search of more local haunts. Places like Eixample, Gràcia and Les Corts, each with their own charming streets, restaurants and vibes. We walked till we dropped, stopped for food (of course) and a cold beer or cava, and then walked again. We stuffed our faces with my hubby’s favourite patatas bravas, melt-in-your-mouth jamon, creamy filled croqeuttes, luscious paella, roasted and grilled meats and seafood and pintxos in all forms and combinations and the sweets – oh the sweets – creme catalan enough said. Also not forgetting the all-essential cava, beer and sangria to wash all the food down with!

barcelona1

The La Boqueria market is a must when in Barcelona. It’s touristy but at the same time the locals shop and eat there just as much. I love, love, love the colourful sights and smells at La Boqueria.

barcelona2

This trip took place in June this year at the start of summer and so I’ve clearly forgotten some of the restaurant names and places we chanced upon. However, I won’t be forgetting the beautiful dinner we had (celebrating our 10 years of wedded bliss!) at Michelin Star restaurant Roca Moo.

roca-moo

Located in Hotel Omm in Barcelona, Roca Moo has a minimalist decor with modern sculptures on tables and clean lines throughout. It’s kinda poshy but not stuffy. We enjoyed the degustation meal expertly paired with matching wines. Picture mediterranean-style dishes prepared using molecular gastronomy techniques. They were not only delicious but were works of art in itself.

Thanks to my hubby for humouring my foodie craves and wandering the streets of Barcelona with me (because he’ll be just as happy sitting in a tapas bar drinking beer and eating patatas bravas all day long).

Barcelona. Till next time! xx

Leave a comment

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Dining Out, Photoblog, Travelling Tummy

Tags

, , , , ,