Wowzers, for those in the southern hemisphere, can you believe that summer is OVER??! Well, I did miss a chunk of it when I did this in Japan.

IMG_3462

Yes, there’s a lump of snow on my helmet. No idea how it got there but it was a great trip…over-dozing a little on sake and grilled meat but who’s complaining? :)

Over the summery Christmas and New Year, I did get my act together (not once but twice) and made this amazing ice cream. So for you northern hemisphere folks, get your ice cream makers ready. This is a good one. Think frozen cheesecake – all gooey, creamy and cheesy. It’s a little bit decadent, but oh-so-yum!

bberrycheeseicecream4

I did cut down on the sugar from the original recipe and it was still a little too sweet, so feel free to adjust to your own taste. And as recommended, a tablespoon of whiskey wouldn’t hurt and it smells so delicious!

I also used my new-ish Nutribullet to whiz up the mix which worked really well. But a regular food processor is a-okay.

bberrycheeseicecream2

BLUEBERRY CHEESECAKE ICE-CREAM
Adapted from Joy the Baker

For the ice-cream:

  • 1 (250g / 8.5 ounce) package cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon whiskey (optional)
  • 1 heaping cup crumbled Graham Crackers or Digestive biscuits

 

  1. Combine the cream cheese, milk, cream, brown sugar, salt, and whiskey (if using) and blend till smooth in a food processor (or large cup of the nutribullet in my case).
  2. Transfer the mixture to the bowl of an ice cream maker and churn according to the manufacturer’s instructions, usually about 30 to 45 minutes.

For the blueberry sauce:

bberrycheeseicecream1

  • 1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen is okay)
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons corn starch
  • 1/4 cup water
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  1. Make the blueberry sauce while the ice cream is churning. In a small saucepan stir together blueberries, sugar, cornstarch, water, salt, and lemon juice over medium-low heat.
  2. Stir regularly – once the berries have burst and the sauce has thickened, remove from heat. It shouldn’t take long, approx 5 minutes.
  3. Allow to rest in the refrigerator while the ice cream churns.

To put everything together:

bberrycheeseicecream3

  1. Quickly spoon finished ice-cream into a freezer safe container. Add the blueberry sauce and swirl to combine. Add crumbled crackers/biscuits and lightly stir in.
  2. Allow ice cream to rest in the freezer for at least 4 hours. Overnight is best.
  3. Enjoy licking the ice cream maker bowl clean.

Note that the addition of crackers/biscuits provides a more authentic cheesecake flavour and texture, but you can do without. I tried once with and once without and both times were equally delicious.

 

 

Leave a comment

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Stuff

Tags

, ,