I don’t know how on earth full-time working mothers manage without help. I only have to feed my hubby and myself and as it is, I often find that I need to prep and plan ahead otherwise we end up eating out, or worse yet eating junk. I have to remember to defrost food before I head off to work, or check that the vegetables are still in good condition. In cases when there’s no food defrosting, or if the salad pack is sitting in its own icky juices (yuk!), a back-up plan is required. This is when canned food comes in very handy.

I saw this recipe for spicy corn fritters awhile back and thought it’d be nice to try it out one day. In anticipation (and planning ahead, thank you), I had three cans of sweet corn sitting in my pantry waiting, waiting, waiting. Finally, last night was corn fritter night. Mainly because I didn’t have food defrosting and my crisper was sad and empty.

Now I highly recommend this fritter recipe. It’s simple to follow and the results were yumtastic! The fritters were crisp (well, some of the suffered because I took a while to take photos) and full of plump sweet corn. The subtle flavours of coriander and cumin came across beautifully and my own added pinch of hot chilli flakes to the batter gave that extra zing.

The dipping sauce was a great side-kick to the dish too! You could possibly use bottled stuff, but I reckon the sauce completed the dish. It was vinegary, sweet and spicy and I couldn’t stop dipping extra french salad leaves in them after I had finished my fritters.  It’s like an extra punchy sweet and sour sauce. Very more-ish, very delish. Highly recommended – this recipe’s definitely a keeper!

SPICY CORN FRITTERS
From Simply Recipes

Dipping Sauce

  • 3/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons red chili pepper flakes
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced

Fritters

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 cups of corn kernels, (see steps for cutting corn from a cob) cut from 3 large cobs (or frozen corn, defrost and drain first)
  • 4 large scallions or green onions, finely sliced (about half a cup)
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • Grapeseed, canola, or peanut oil (a high smoke point oil) for frying

METHOD

 

Make the dipping sauce by combining all of the sauce ingredients into a small saucepan. Cook on medium heat, stirring with a wooden spoon, until sugar dissolves. Increase the heat to medium high, let boil for 5-10 minutes or so, until the mixture becomes somewhat syrupy. Remove from heat and let cool. The sauce should continue to thicken as it cools. If it becomes too thick, you can add a little water to it to thin it out a bit.

 

Join the conversation! 7 Comments

  1. I kept reading every word going, “yes, yes, yes…I’m in the exact same boat!”

    Can’t wait to make these to go with the dinner I half-prepared last night because there would have been no time once I got home from work!

    Reply
    • Ahh the joys of working full time and rushing home to prepare dinner eh? I loved these fritters. Hope you do too!

      Reply
  2. AH! I found this recipe via foodgawker. Thanks for posting it!!! I’ve managed to impress my amazing chef mother in law. :)

    Reply
  3. Love spicy corn fritters. Had them in Bali years ago. Great with rice as well!

    Reply
  4. Hi there,

    I made this recipe just an hour ago and I couldn’t wait but write a comment. It was delicious! My family loved it! Only thing is I didn’t make the sauce since I didn’t have some ingredients and was too lazy to go to the market. But all in all very good fritters. Next time I will have to make the sauce! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a comment

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Veggies & Salads

Tags

,