July 11, 2010

Yaki udon

Udon is a thick, wheat based Japanese noodle, popular cooked in a soup or stir fried. It’s one of those noodles that is rather fool-proof to cook. It’s springy and easy to handle – there’s low risk of overcooking or turning it to mush. On its own, the udon noodle is pretty tasteless but it is great for handling all sorts of sauces and flavours.

Like the soba, the udon can pretty much be cooked with anything. Vegetables, meat, fish – whatever you fancy. In short, use your creativity. This is the best kind of cooking I reckon!

This version of yaki udon is made with veggies, chicken and loads of yummy sauce for the noodles to soak it all in.

400g udon
2 chicken breasts, sliced and marinated in light soy
4 heads of bok choy
1/2 a small napa cabbage
fresh minced garlic
thinly sliced and julienned ginger

2 tbsp light soy
1 tbsp dark soy
1 tbsp mirin
white pepper
sesame oil
chicken stock
cornflour for thickening sauce

Fry ginger and garlic till fragrant before adding in marinated chicken. Stir fry the chicken till almost cooked then add in noodles, vegetables and all the sauces. Mix it well in the wok. Add in about 1/4 cup chicken stock, cover and simmer for 10 mins. Mix 1.5 teaspoons of cornflour with a tiny bit of water, stir it in the noodles to thicken the sauce before serving.

A quick and delicious weeknight dinner – oh, do be careful of sauce splash action if you’re a noodle slurper!!

Join the conversation! 8 Comments

  1. I’ve try Yaki Soba before in Janpanese restaurant in Thailand, it was so memorable! I don’t know the different between Udon and Soba, but I really love to try this recipe.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Tes

    Reply
    • Hey Tes, thanks for stopping by. Udon is thicker and springier. I prefer it for frying. Soba noodles are thinner, much like instant noodles. They’re both yummy though! Have fun trying out recipes for both.

      Reply
  2. This looks great. I can’t wait to try it. My toddlers love food like this and I do too. I use a lot of those ingredients with my chicken lettuce wraps, minus udon and mirin, plus a lot of other stuff… YUMMY !!!

    Reply
  3. I happened to be doing a bit of work-related researching in Yahoo today and came upon this web site. I have to admit that I have gotten a lttle bit distracted going through and reading a number of your posts… I ought to probably be doing work. Terrific stuff here and I’ll be back in the future to check out more. Take care!

    Reply
  4. My absolute favorite noodle, I use them with anything that requires a noodle. Maybe not always right, but I am the one doing the cooking so I get the say. thanks for the recipe

    Reply
  5. Made this for dinner the other night and it was delicious! I added carrots, bok choy, and bell pepper to the udon noodles. Loved how quickly it came together!

    Reply

Leave a comment

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Asian Yums, Home attempts, Recipes, Rice, Noodles, Pasta

Tags

, ,